Skip to content
RateBase
All states
Pennsylvania

Statewide model tariff

The PA PUC adopted a model tariff for every jurisdictional electric distribution company. It applies to new or incremental loads at or above 50 MW individually or 100 MW in aggregate. The model sets the statewide baseline, but each utility must file its own enforceable tariff and obtain Commission approval.

Current position

Statewide model tariff with utility-specific implementation

Actions
2
Published tariffs
1
Legislation
1
Status
Adopted

Regulatory and utility record

Tariffs, contracts, and proceedings

Each record is shown on its own terms. A utility-specific tariff or contract does not automatically apply to every large customer in the state.

Statewide action · Rules effective; implementation ongoing

Pennsylvania model tariff for large-load customers

The Commission adopted a statewide model tariff for new or incremental large loads at or over 50 MW individually or 100 MW in aggregate. It is guidance for utility-specific filings rather than a self-executing statewide rate. The docket remains active after reconsideration activity and June 2026 follow-up rulemaking questions.

Open proceeding

Why it matters

The framework sets a common Pennsylvania baseline for long-term contracts, 80 percent minimum demand, customer-funded but-for upgrades, collateral, exit fees, and six-month interconnection-study targets, but each utility's enforceable terms still require its own approved tariff.

Enforceable terms

Key requirements

Eligibility threshold

50 MW single site · 100 MW aggregate

Minimum payment

80% of contracted demand

Minimum contract term

5+ years after a 3–5 year ramp

Service structure
Statewide model with utility-specific tariff implementationThe model is not self-executing; each electric distribution company files enforceable tariff language for Commission approval.
Charges and assessments
Customer-caused network and interconnection costsUtility filings implement the model's minimum bill, ramp, security, and facilities-recovery mechanics.
Credit and collateral
Network and interconnection costsCollateral should fully cover network improvements and interconnection facilities, declining as construction and load-ramp milestones reduce the remaining exposure.
Exit protection
Unrecovered facilities cost or remaining minimum chargesThe model uses the greater of the unrecovered network and interconnection cost or remaining minimum charges, subject to the specified one-to-five-year exit-fee period.
Grid infrastructure
Utility-specific filing requiredImplementation pendingThe model allocates customer-caused facilities and upgrade risk to the large-load customer, but enforceable mechanics depend on each approved utility tariff.
Generation and resource costs
Not identified in the statewide model
Reporting and true-up
Utility compliance filings and Commission approvalImplementation pendingThe Commission reviews each implementation tariff and its evidence before the terms become enforceable for that utility.

Official sources supporting these requirements

PPL Electric · Effective; review pending

PPL Electric Utilities general rate case

PPL Electric requested a $356.27 million annual distribution revenue increase. The Commission authorized approximately $275 million, rates became effective July 1, 2026, and reconsideration remains pending after a July 8 procedural order.

Open proceeding

Why it matters

The authorized revenue increase is below the request. The settlement did not state one authorized ROE; 9.4% is a CAUSE-PA estimate, not a Commission award.

Enforceable terms

Key requirements

Eligibility threshold

50 MW single site · 75 MW aggregate within 10 miles

PPL Electric Rate Schedule LP-6

Minimum payment

Firm 80% then 50% · interruptible 60% then 30% Minimum-demand percentages step down after years one through five of the service agreement.

PPL Electric Rate Schedule LP-6

Minimum contract term

10 years

PPL Electric Rate Schedule LP-6

Credit and collateral
Security equal to rate-base cost of required upgradesAuthorizedPPL Electric Rate Schedule LP-6
Exit protection
Greater of remaining minimum-load obligation or security obligationAuthorizedPPL Electric Rate Schedule LP-6
Grid infrastructure
Advance milestone payments for directly assigned upgradesAuthorizedPPL Electric Rate Schedule LP-6
Generation and resource costs
Not identified in the LP-6 sourcesAuthorizedPPL Electric Rate Schedule LP-6

Official sources supporting these requirements

Statutory record

Legislation

1

HB 1834

2025-2026

Commercial data-center regulation

Would establish Commission review and filing rules for commercial data-center contracts, cost and clean-firm-energy requirements, backup-generation and curtailment standards, disclosure, certification, and enforcement.

Passed the House and was referred to the Senate Consumer Protection and Professional Licensure Committee.

Passed one chamber

Directly related · Mar 31, 2026

Official bill

Published instruments

Pennsylvania tariffs

Normalized terms from the current published tariff version. These records are separate from state policy and pending proceedings.

PPL Electric · PA

Rate Schedule LP-6

large_load

Status
effective
Current version
Authorized 2025-09-30 · Jul 1, 2026
Threshold
50 MW
Contract term
10 years
Minimum payment
80%
Collateral
The customer must provide security equal to the rate-base cost of upgrades needed to serve it, using a letter of credit, parent guarantee, or another security instrument acceptable to PPL Electric.
Exit protection
The exit fee is the greater of the remaining minimum-load-guarantee obligation during the agreement term or the remaining Rate Base Security Obligation.

PPL Electric's LP-6 schedule applies to qualifying large-load customers taking service at 69 kV or above. The schedule establishes long-term service, minimum-demand, security, exit-fee, and directly assigned upgrade-payment requirements.

Collateral Requirement
The customer must provide security equal to the rate-base cost of upgrades needed to serve it, using a letter of credit, parent guarantee, or another security instrument acceptable to PPL Electric.
Direct Upgrade Payment Requirement
Directly assignable transmission and distribution upgrades require contribution-in-aid-of-construction milestone payments before work is performed.
Exit Fee Requirement
The exit fee is the greater of the remaining minimum-load-guarantee obligation during the agreement term or the remaining Rate Base Security Obligation.
Firm Minimum Demand Percent Years 1 5
80
Firm Minimum Demand Percent Years 6 10
50
Interruptible Minimum Demand Percent Years 1 5
60
Interruptible Minimum Demand Percent Years 6 10
30
Maximum Ramp Years
5
Minimum Contract Years
10
Monthly Customer Charge Usd
999.11
Pre Security Satisfaction Minimum Demand Percent
80
Qualifying Aggregate Demand Mw
75
Qualifying Aggregate Radius Miles
10
Qualifying Demand Mw
50
Service Commencement On Or After
2025-10-01
Voltage Threshold Kv
69

“Not specified” means the current official tariff record does not establish a normalized term. Retail tariff requirements are not inferred from wholesale-grid rules, interconnection processes, or pending policy proceedings.